2021 Blue Planet Prize by the Asahi Glass Foundation

2021 Honorary member by the American Meteorological Society

2018 Climate and Clean Air Awards by Climate and Clean Air Coalition

2018 Mendel Medal, given by Villanova University

2018 Tang Laureate for Sustainability Science, given by TANG foundation

2017  Haagen-Smit Clean Air Award, given by California Air Resources Board

2016 Revelle Medal awarded by UCSD

2016 Science Advisor, the Holy See delegation to the climate summit: COP-22 at Marrakech

2016 National Council for Science and the Environment Lifetime Achievement Award recipient

2016 Received the Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Climate Change from the BBVA foundation

2015 Science Advisor; Holy See Delegation to UNFCC COP-21 Summit at Paris

2014 Listed as Foreign Policy Magazine’s Top 100 Global Thinkers of 2014

2014 Received the Asian Heritage Award for Science and Technology

2013 Champion of the Earth Laureate for the Science and Innovation category, by the Head of the United Nations Environment Program

2012 One of eight included in the European Commission Book “Air & Climate Conversations about Molecules and Planets with Humans in Between” that honored 6 atmospheric scientists including Paul Crutzen, Mario Molina, Schellnhuber and Sir John Houghton

2012 Appointed to the Council of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences by Pope Benedict

2011 Elected to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

2009 Commencement Speech, University of California, San Diego Sixth College

2009 Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement with co-recipient Dr. Richard Alley

2008 Zayed Prize for scientific and technological achievements in environment with co-recipient Prof. Jane Lubchenco

2008 8th Annual Henry W. Kendall Memorial Lecture, MIT

2006 Cozzarelli Paper of the Year Prize. The National Academy of Sciences,

2006 Bjerknes Lecture, American Geophysical Union, Global Dimming and Its Masking Effect on Global Warming

2006 Elected to American Philosophical Society

2004 Appointed member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences by Pope John Paul II
Scripps Institution of Oceanography News Release

2004 Johannes Gutenberg Lecturer

2003 Pioneer Award, the National Science Foundation
“In recognition of your vision, leadership, and entrepreneurial spirit in pioneering the Science and Technology Center concept.”

2003 Fellow, Indian Meteorological Society

2003 Alexander M. Cruickshank Lecturer

2002 The Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal, American Meteorological Society
The highest award given by AMS
“for fundamental insights into the radiative roles of clouds, aerosols and key gases in the earths climate system.”

2002 Elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences

2000 W. S. Jardetzky Lecturer, Lamont Doherty Observatory, Columbia University

1998 Elected to Stonybrook 40; Among Stony Brook’s Finest Philosophers, Financiers, Administartors, Inventors, Jurists, Philanthropists……
State University of Stony Brook

1997 Volvo Environment Prize (shared with S. Manabe).
“for pioneering work over several decades has helped us to understand one of the critical aspects of human activity”
Volvo Announcement

1996 Foreign Member, Academia Europaea

1995 Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

1995 Buys Ballot Medal, Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
One of the oldest prizes by the academy established in 1887 and given once every ten years.
“for outstanding scientific work in the science of the atmosphere over the last decade or two”

1989 Medal for Exceptional Scientific Achievement, NASA

Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Fellow, American Meteorological Society

Fellow, American Geophysical Union

1984 Distinguished Alumnus Award, SUNY, Stony Brook

1981 Outstanding Publication Award, NCAR

1975 Special Achievement Award, NASA